One week in October…

On this week in October…

32 years ago,  my beautiful wife, Diana, was born. I am tremendously blessed by her persevering spirit, her newfound joyous affection as a mother, truthfulness, and courageous heart. It’s my privilege that she said yes to me. How brave. I don’t deserve her.

fullsizerender-2(we spent Diana’s birthday at the hospital while waiting for Judah’s jaundice treatment – he’s doing OK!)

3 years ago, my beloved mother went to be with our Lord. I think about her a lot. I appreciate her more and more as time goes by – and it’s hard not to feel sorry sometimes that I didn’t appreciate my own mother fully when we were together. She pointed me to God. She was great. I miss her. So much.

img_4576(there was a certain way mom held my arm)

 

1 week ago, we welcomed our precious son, Judah. That’s really the only way I can describe my son, “precious”. I can just look at him for hours and be filled with joy – and he doesn’t have to do a thing. Imagine! How much deeper God’s grace is…

img_4563(precious)

 

Every October, this particular week is important for our family. This week is a celebration of fragile, precious life. It’s both heart-wrenching and heartwarming reminders of the blessings and burdens God grants us. It is also a time where I learn that worshiping God is possible in any season and every circumstance. I can praise God in the storm, I can praise God in the calm, I can praise God in my sadness, I can praise God in my joy.

This past week, I am reminded of all this by how God lavishes His grace to us through Christ:

“In Christ, He chose us before the world was made. He chose us in love to be His holy people – people who could stand before Him without any fault. And before the world was made, God decided to make us His own children through Jesus Christ. This was what God wanted, and it pleased Him to do it. And this brings praise to God because of His wonderful grace. God gave that grace freely. He gave us that grace in Christ, the one He loves.” (Ephesians 1:4-6, ERV)

 

 

Prayer Requests:
Deeper capacity for love – Please pray that Diana and I would grow in the knowledge of God’s love as parents, grow in our capacity to love and serve our family, and become a blessing to many others as we keep the focus on Jesus.

Anticipation – Please pray for our church. We are full of anticipation. Whether it’s a new season with new happenings, or striving to hope in God as we wait for breakthroughs and persevere in faithfulness. We’re looking forward to a year-end retreat in 5 weeks time. Please help intercede for us that we would encounter God together.

Provisions – Please pray that Diana and I would trust God would provide for our every need as a family as we continue raising funds. We have been tremendously blessed by our family, friends, and church’s generous support through the years. We are trusting God that He’ll continue providing through our partners in this season.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

